Cruise Arrivals


Orkney Youth Parliament results due this afternoon

Orkney’s Youth Parliament Candidates. From the left: Calum McArthur, Isla Leslie, Brooke Mitchell and Jack Norquoy.

The results of the vote for the 2017 Scottish Youth Parliament election will be announced this afternoon.

Voting closed at midnight on Thursday, with four candidates seeking election to the two Orkney seats – Jack Norquoy, Brooke Mitchell (both Stromness Academy), Calum McArthur and Isla Leslie (Kirkwall Grammar School).

The result will be declared in the Orkney Islands Council chamber at 4.30pm by Orkney’s Returning Officer Alistair Buchan.